812-335-7675

Association for Educational Communications and Technology - Event Information


Event Name:R&T Webinar: "New roles and qualitative research approaches to study complex educational systems".
Description:Webinar: "New roles and qualitative research approaches to study complex educational systems".

The Research & Theory Division of AECT invites you to a professional development webinar with Dr. Scott Warren on Thursday,June 21 at 12 pm CT (10 am PT, 11 am MT, 1 pm ET). Dr. Warren will be discussing "New roles and qualitative research approaches to study complex educational systems". We look forward to having you join us.
 
Abstract:
Qualitative research methods have often been used to examine individual cases and classroom experiences with teachers and learners to explore how and why learning took place. These inquiry approaches have been useful for examining systemic affordances and barriers to instruction, as well as student interactions and experiences with instructional technologies ranging from learning games to social media. As educational systems continue to add technology to support organizational and learning aspects, it becomes more difficult to untangle the reasons why large-scale implementations succeed or fail with only quantitative measures. With a higher education example, we discuss how qualitative approaches can provide stakeholders and managers with a better view of how a complex educational scheme is constructed, using a “system of systems” view to examine aspects such as financing, management, learning, advising, technology, and human resources components that impact success. At each contact points between subsystems, transitions exist where delivering the products and services of an educational organization may fail. This state of affairs requires understanding the quality of stakeholder experience and problem identification can be done to determine needs for product or process improvements, additional training, better overall strategy, or wholesale organizational changes. With examples from soft systems methodology and failure modes and effects analysis methods, this webinar explores changing the role of qualitative approaches as we shift the research lens from local participant experience to whole organization as a means of better depicting the performance of complex educational systems.
 
Please join us by registering here:
https://byu.zoom.us/meeting/register/c336e2dd3c54a7f98c34be5db4a05ad8
 
Event Date:6/21/2018
Event Time:1:00 PM - 2:00 PM Eastern
Location:
Links:Click here to Register.
Outlook/vCalendar/Google:Click on the icon next to the date(s) to add to your calendar:
6/21/2018
Email Reminder:click here to setup an email reminder for this event


return to Association for Educational Communications and Technology



Educational Partners